SHS Yearbook Earns Jostens National Yearbook Design Recognition

Sartell-St. Stephen’s yearbook, The Scabbard, has been recognized for excellence and featured in the 2012 Gotcha Covered Look Book, Volume 10 celebrating the best-of-the-best in yearbook design and creation. Jostens’ Look Book is a collection of spreads and photos from outstanding yearbooks and their creative themes, cool covers, dazzling designs, relevant coverage, storytelling copy and action-packed photography. Along with design excellence, the annually published Look Book honors the important role well-crafted yearbooks play in helping schools chronicle the experiences, stories and achievements most relevant to students and that academic year. 

The Scabbard was created by Drew Anderson, Brittney Becker, Ashley Bekkerus, Myles Bous, Taryn Broda, Andrew Deters, Sara Doeden, Mindy Duba, Sam Dullinger, Morgan Emery, Katy Haglin, Kelsey Jones, Rebecca Lanners, Ali Mick, Kirsty Moir, Nicole Olmscheid, Gabby Ross, Maddie Thompson, Jeremy Traut, Alex Vold, Alexis Walcome, Tanner Walz, Morgan Zakrajshek, and Adam Zenzen under the direction of Angie Heckman, Sartell High School yearbook adviser. 
The Sartell HS Scabbard was one of only 400 yearbooks selected from approximately 3,000. The 2012 panel of judges, comprised of nationally recognized scholastic journalism professionals and award-winning yearbook advisers, selected the best examples of yearbook spreads and photos to make up the 288-page 2012 Look Book. 
“I am so excited that our yearbook was featured in the best-of-the-best yearbooks idea book! The students worked so hard to create the book and design the cover and I am thrilled they were recognized for their accomplishment! It is so exciting knowing our book may inspire other schools to create a unique cover to showcase their school community.” Angie Heckman, SHS yearbook adviser.